Optometric Oath

I will practice the art and science of optometry faithfully and conscientiously, and to the fullest scope of my competence.
I will uphold and honorably promote by example and action the highest standards, ethics and ideals of my chosen profession and the honor of the degree, Doctor of Optometry, which has been granted me.
I will provide professional care for those who seek my services, with concern, with compassion and with due regard for their human rights and dignity.
I will place the treatment of those who seek my care above personal gain and strive to see that none shall lack for proper care.
I will hold as privileged and inviolable all information entrusted to me in confidence by my patients.
I will advise my patients fully and honestly of all which may serve to restore, maintain or enhance their vision and general health.
I will strive continuously to broaden my knowledge and skills so that my patients may benefit from all new and efficacious means to enhance the care of human vision.
I will share information cordially and unselfishly with my fellow optometrists and other professionals for the benefit of patients and the advancement of human knowledge and welfare.
I will do the utmost to serve my community, my country and humankind as a citizen as well as an optometrist.
I hereby commit myself to be steadfast in the performance of this my solemn oath and obligation.
Adopted by the American Optometric Association and the Association of Schools and Colleges of Optometry.

Georgia Optometric Association
Past Presidents

1904 Dr. C.E. Folsom
1906 Dr. L.A. Hines
1907 Dr. M.B. Clason
1908 Dr. C.H. Kittrell
1910 Dr. Henry J. Godin
1912 Dr. J.H. Sprating, Sr.
1914 Dr. B.B. Bostwick
1916 Dr. George B. Wood
1917 Dr. Charles A. Hillburn
1919 Dr. F.E. Vaissiere
1920 Dr. Maxine Minor
1921 Dr. F.E. Vaissiere
1923 Dr. J. H. Sprating, Sr.
1924 Dr. W.W. Smith
1925 Dr. Walter Wilson, Sr.
1926 Dr. H.P. Rackley
1927 Dr. O.M. Schomburg
1928 Dr. C.D. Benton
1930 Dr. Henry J. Godin
1933 Dr. J.J. Hogue
1934 Dr. F.C. Wilson
1935 Dr. F.C. Wilson
1936 Dr. Henry Godin
1937 Dr. S.C. Outlaw
1938 Dr. S.C. Outlaw
1939 Dr. Dave Williams
1940 Dr. Stephen Gernazian
1941 Dr. Stephen Gernazian
1942 Dr. A. Scott Gibson
1943 Dr. A. Scott Gibson
1944 Dr. A. Scott Gibson
1945 Dr. C.C. Robinson, Sr.
1946 Dr. Walter Wilson, Sr.
1947 Dr. Walter Wilson, Sr.
1948 Dr. Fraser Rayburn
1949 Dr. William Allen
1950 Dr. Walker Matthews
1951 Dr. Walker Matthews
1952 Dr. Charles Little
1953 Dr. Jack Runninger
1954 Dr. Jack Wheeler
1955 Dr. Emory Milton
1956 Dr. George Slade
1957 Dr. Andrew Denman
1958 Dr. Harold Clayton
1959 Dr. Roy B. Archer
1960 Dr. John Thomas
1961 Dr. Gerald Thomas
1962 Dr. W.A. Owensby
1963 Dr. Edwin Ashendorf
1964 Dr. Wallis Reagin
1965 Dr. L.A. Maxwell
1967 Dr. Keith Caldwell
1968 Dr. Lester Porter
1969 Dr. Lester Porter

1970 Dr. S. Cliff Rainey, II
1971 Dr. Elliot Pomerance
1972 Dr. Carlton Hicks
1973 Dr. Earl Lusk
1974 Dr. Bernard Kahn
1975 Dr. George Grant
1976 Dr. L. Wayne Brown
1977 Dr. Corly Nease
1978 Dr. T. Joel Byars
1979 Dr. Frank Gibson
1980 Dr. Gary Crook
1981 Dr. Kirk L. Smick
1982 Dr. Lester Porter
1983 G. Rex Courtney
1984 Dr. Joe H. Dew
1985 Dr. Donald R, Dye
1986 Dr. Larry E. Forth
1987 Dr. Michael S. McQuaig
1988 Dr. H. Kemp Jones
1989 Dr. Ron M. Bannister
1990 Dr. Daniel J. Tulman
1991 Dr. James L. Sistar
1992 Dr. Michael S. McQuaig
1993 Dr. Stuart J. Thomas
1994 Dr. James B. Craig, Jr.
1995 Dr. Sheri L. Becker
1996 Dr. James McQuaig, Jr.
1997 Dr. Nancy S. Barr
1998 Dr. Robert McCullough
1999 Dr. Jody L. Whisenant
2000 Dr. Brian Kahn
2001 Dr. Paul Ajamian
2002 Dr. Cliff Courtenay
2003 Dr. Robert Burns
2004 Dr. Gerald Prchal
2005 Dr. Ted McElroy
2006 Dr. Chris Hobson
2007 Dr. Maurice Zadeh
2008 Dr. John Whitlow
2009 Dr. Joyce Nations
2010 Dr. Horace Deal
2011 Dr. Tom Casella
2012 Dr. Tom Spetalnick
2013 Dr. Stuart Tasman
2014 Dr. Glenda Brown
2015 Dr. Jeffrey Hackleman
2016 Dr. Judson Briggs
2017 Dr. Benjamin Casella
2018 Dr. Nhung Brandenburg
2019 Dr. Scott Emely
2020 Dr. Mehrdad E. Saadat
2021 Dr. Jeanne Perrine
2022 Dr. Darrell Sorah